Birds Of A Feather. Image shows from L to R: Sharon Theodopolopodous (Pauline Quirke), Dorien Green (Lesley Joseph), Tracey Stubbs (Linda Robson). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Retort.

Birds Of A Feather (1989)

ITV and BBC One sitcom about three friends living in Essex. 128 episodes (12 series), 1989 - 2020. Stars Pauline Quirke, Linda Robson, Lesley Joseph, Charlie Quirke and others.

Series 4, Episode 9 is repeated on Drama today at 5:20pm.

Series 2, Episode 4 - Muesli

Darryl is down after watching a fellow inmate being released. His friend tries to cheer him up. Tracey wants to have more in common with him so gets Dorien to lock her and Sharon in the box room for the weekend, only she ends up with a crisis and forgets about them.

Further details

Darryl is depressed as another inmate says his goodbye's as Tracey is visiting. He is also down that Tracey has come in with lots of news and he has nothing interesting to say.

Marcus has took Dorien's house keys by mistake and she can't get in, so Tracey agrees that she can stay.

Tracey decides that she wants to share Darryl's experience and understand what prison is like. She decides to turn a bedroom into a cell, complete with bunk beds. Sharon thinks it's a stupid idea, Dorien however, thinks it's a very good idea and agrees to be their warden. Sharon sneaks to the fridge and Dorien comes down hard, locking them in.

Meanwhile in prison Darryl's cellmate Gary is trying to cheer him up by showing him that a normal day inside can be like a normal day outside.

Dorien returns home to find the door has been forced and the house empty. She forgets that Sharon and Tracey are still locked in the bedroom.

The police arrive at Dorien's just as Sharon and Tracey climb through the skylight onto the roof, they throw tiles down to attract attention, one goes through the windscreen of the police car.

When they are arrested they get to spend the night in a real cell.

Broadcast details

Thursday 27th September 1990
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Pauline Quirke Sharon Theodopolopodous
Linda Robson Tracey Stubbs
Lesley Joseph Dorien Green
Alun Lewis Darryl Stubbs
Guest cast
Stanford Calaman Prison Officer
Roger Griffiths Gary
John Forgeham CID Officer
Frank Harper Billy
Writing team
Steve Coombes Writer
Dave Robinson Writer
Production team
Charlie Hanson Director
Nic Phillips Producer
Allan McKeown Executive Producer
Michael Pilsworth Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 45 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see editor, production designer & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?