BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2023, Episode 7 - Final: Glasgow

BBC New Comedy Awards. Image shows left to right: Chantel Nash, Paddy Young, Dan Tiernan, Josh Pugh, Joe Kent-Walters, Rosie Jones, Zoe Lyons, Jin Hao Li, Darren Harriott, Dean T Beirne, Hester Ectomy
Rosie Jones hosts as the six finalists take to the stage at Glasgow's King's Theatre to impress judges Josh Pugh, Zoe Lyons and Darren Harriott and win the New Comedian Award 2023.

Further details

The BBC's foremost comedy talent search, The New Comedy Awards, has reached its climax. Over 1,000 applied, more than 100 went head-to-head at showcases across the country and 30 battled it out in the regional heats. Now, six finalists take to the stage in their bid to win over the judges and be crowned the BBC New Comedian of 2023.

Filmed in front of a full house at one of Scotland's most historic and significant playhouses, King's Theatre, Glasgow, which opened in 1904 and has played host to top stars and stand-up comics ever since.

The Grand Final is a culmination of six regional heats filmed across the UK. The judges have a tough job picking a winner from a diverse range of cutting-edge comics.

The awards are hosted by award-winning stand-up, writer and actor Rosie Jones. Head judge Josh Pugh takes his place for the final time and is joined by fellow stand-ups Zoe Lyons and Darren Harriott. Former winner of the New Comedian Award 2022 Dan Tiernan gives a very special performance before handing over the award to this year's recipient.

Kit Rees (as Hester Ectomy)

BBC New Comedy Awards. Hester Ectomy

Jin Hao Li

BBC New Comedy Awards. Jin Hao Li

Joe Kent-Walters (as Frankie Monroe)

BBC New Comedy Awards. Joe Kent-Walters

Chantel Nash

BBC New Comedy Awards. Chantel Nash

Dean T Beirne

BBC New Comedy Awards. Dean T Beirne

Paddy Young

BBC New Comedy Awards. Paddy Young

Interviews with the finalists


Winner: Joe Kent-Walters

Broadcast details

Wednesday 15th November 2023
45 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 15th November 2023 11:10pm BBC1 Wales

Cast & crew

Josh Pugh Self
Guest cast
Rosie Jones Host / Presenter
Zoe Lyons Guest
Darren Harriott Guest
Dan Tiernan Guest
Paddy Young Self
Dean T Beirne Self
Kit Rees (as Hester Ectomy) Self
Chantel Nash Self
Jin Hao Li Self
Joe Kent-Walters (as Frankie Monroe) Self
Production team
Geraldine Dowd (as Geri Dowd) Director
Lindsay Jex Series Producer
Lucy Ansbro Executive Producer
Fiona Frankland Line Producer
Richard Dean Edit Producer
Mark Olver Consultant Producer
Navi Lamba Executive Producer
Jane Rogerson Executive Producer
Stuart Pring Lighting Designer
Stuart Pring Production Designer
Mark Robertson Composer


New Comedy Awards 2023 finalists' favourite jokes

Ahead of the BBC's New Comedy Awards 2023 grand final, each heat winner picked out a joke from their own set that hit the spot with audiences.

Featuring: Dean T Beirne, Hester Ectomy, Jin Hao Li, Frankie Monroe, Chantel Nash & Paddy Young.

Share this page