BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2021, Episode 6 - Portrush

BBC New Comedy Awards. Image shows from L to R: Diona Doherty, Roger O'Sullivan, William Thompson, Micky Bartlett, Shane Todd, Vittorio Angelone, Catherine Bohart, Kathryn Higgins, Mawaan Rizwan. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment
The heats conclude in the small seaside resort town of Portrush in Northern Ireland. Shane Todd hosts.

Further details

We are in the small seaside resort town of Portrush or lovingly called Portlush by the locals. It sits on the north coast of County Antrim, Northern Ireland and is home to our wonderful venue tonight, the Town Hall. Dating back to [y]1870,[/y] this Victorian marvel is for one night only transformed into our very own comedy club. Our host for the night is Holywood's own, Shane Todd. The Belfast born comedian, writer and radio presenter kicks off the night with a bit of local banter before bringing on the five acts. Judging their performances are acclaimed Belfast comic, Micky Bartlett and former BBC New Comedy Award alumni, Catherine Bohart. Head judge, Mawaan Rizwan, completes the trio for this evening.

Vittorio Angelone

BBC New Comedy Awards. Vittorio Angelone. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment

Diona Doherty

BBC New Comedy Awards. Diona Doherty. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment

Kathryn Higgins

BBC New Comedy Awards. Kathryn Higgins. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment

Roger O'Sullivan

BBC New Comedy Awards. Roger O'Sullivan. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment

William Thompson

BBC New Comedy Awards. William Thompson. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment


William Thompson was chosen by the judges.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 19th October 2021
BBC Three (Online)
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 3rd November 2021 11:35pm BBC1
Thursday 4th November 2021 12:05am BBC1 Wales
Thursday 4th November 2021 1:05am BBC1 Scot

Cast & crew

Mawaan Rizwan Self
Guest cast
Shane Todd Host / Presenter
Micky Bartlett Guest
Catherine Bohart Guest
Diona Doherty Self
Roger O'Sullivan Self
William Thompson Self
Vittorio Angelone Self
Kathryn Higgins Self
Production team
Geraldine Dowd (as Geri Dowd) Director
Lindsay Jex Series Producer
Lucy Ansbro Executive Producer
Simon Wilson Executive Producer
Harriet Murdoch Executive Producer
Fiona Frankland Line Producer
Richard Dean Edit Producer
Mark Olver Consultant Producer
Richard Drew Production Designer
Stuart Pring Lighting Designer

Share this page