BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2021, Episode 7 - Grand Final

BBC New Comedy Awards. Anna Thomas. Credit: Phil McIntyre Entertainment
Six finalists take to the stage in their bid to win over the judges and be crowned the BBC New Comedian of 2021. Featuring Anna Thomas, Celya AB, Molly McGuinness, Lily Phillips, Liam Farrelly and William Thompson.

Broadcast details

Friday 5th November 2021
50 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Saturday 6th November 2021 12:55am BBC1 Scot

Cast & crew

Mawaan Rizwan Self
Guest cast
Guz Khan Host / Presenter
Sophie Duker Guest
Lauren Pattison Guest
Kiell Smith-Bynoe Guest
Lee Ridley (as Lost Voice Guy) Guest
Anna Thomas Self
Celya AB Self
Molly McGuinness Self
Lily Phillips Self
Liam Farrelly Self
William Thompson Self
Bobby Duquenoy Taylor Self
Holly Hall Self
Production team
Geraldine Dowd (as Geri Dowd) Director
Lindsay Jex Series Producer
Lucy Ansbro Executive Producer
Simon Wilson Executive Producer
Harriet Murdoch Executive Producer
Fiona Frankland Line Producer
Richard Dean Edit Producer
Mark Olver Consultant Producer
Stuart Pring Lighting Designer
Mark Robertson Composer


Anna Thomas: How I became a stand-up comic

The winner of the BBC New Comedy Awards 2021, Anna Thomas, explains how she got into comedy, where she gets her inspiration and shares her tips for getting into stand-up.

Hannah Price, BBC, 6th November 2021

Share this page