BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2022, Episode 3 - Derry

BBC New Comedy Awards. Image shows left to right: Fern Brady, Alison Spittle, Catherine Bohart, Shane Todd
Catherine Bohart hosts from the Guildhall, Derry/Londonderry, as five hopefuls battle it out for a place in the grand final. Head judge Fern Brady is joined on the panel by Shane Todd and Alison Spittle.

Further details

Irish stand-up Catherine Bohart hosts from the Guildhall, Derry/Londonderry. Joining her are the three judges - award-winning comedian and broadcaster Shane Todd, comedian and actress Alison Spittle and head judge Fern Brady.

Robbie McShane, Bronwyn Sweeney, Lisa Casey, Johnny Bow and Mike Rice each perform their set, before the judges decide who will go through to the grand final at St David's Hall in Cardiff. There can only be one winner, so who will it be?

Broadcast details

Tuesday 11th October 2022
BBC Three
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 12th October 2022 1:35am BBC3

Cast & crew

Fern Brady Self
Guest cast
Catherine Bohart Host / Presenter
Shane Todd Guest
Alison Spittle Guest
Robbie McShane Self
Bronwyn Sweeney Self
Lisa Casey Self
Johnny Bow Self
Mike Rice Self

Share this page