BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2022, Episode 5 - Middlesbrough

BBC New Comedy Awards. Image shows left to right: Ria Lina, Lauren Pattison, Fern Brady, Jonny Pelham
Lauren Pattison hosts the latest heat from Middlesbrough Town Hall, where five hopefuls vie for a place in the grand final. Head judge Fern Brady is joined on the panel by Jonny Pelham and Ria Lina.

Further details

The New Comedy Awards heads to Middlesbrough, where five hopefuls - Elaine Robertson, Matty Oxley, Vidura Rajapaksa, Chelsea Birkby and Dan Tiernan - battle it out for a place in the grand final in Cardiff.

Former New Comedy Awards alumna Lauren Pattison is the host for the evening, and she is joined by stand-up Jonny Pelham and comedian, actress and writer Ria Lina. Keeping the house in order is head judge Fern Brady.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 25th October 2022
BBC Three
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Fern Brady Self
Guest cast
Lauren Pattison Host / Presenter
Jonny Pelham Guest
Ria Lina Guest
Elaine Robertson Self
Matty Oxley Self
Vidura Rajapaksa Self
Chelsea Birkby Self
Dan Tiernan Self

Share this page