BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2022, Episode 2 - Exeter

BBC New Comedy Awards. Image shows left to right: Michael McKenzie, Will Hall, Leila Navabi, Fern Brady, Jayde Adams, Omar Badawy, Laura Smyth, Leroy Brito, Kate Cheka
Jayde Adams is joined at the Corn Exchange, Exeter, by judges Laura Smyth, Leroy Brito and Fern Brady as five new comics battle it out for a place in the grand final.

Further details

New comics Will Hall, Leila Navabi, Omar Badawy, Kate Cheka and Michael McKenzie take to the stage in a bid to impress the judges and book their place in the final.

Comedian, actor and star of Strictly, Jayde Adams, is here to keep the house in order. The judges are award-winning comic Laura Smyth and Welsh stand-up Leroy Brito. Head judge Fern Brady completes the panel.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 4th October 2022
BBC Three
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 4th October 2022 11:55pm BBC3
Thursday 6th October 2022 11:00pm BBC3

Cast & crew

Fern Brady Self
Guest cast
Jayde Adams Host / Presenter
Laura Smyth Guest
Leroy Brito Guest
Will Hall Self
Leila Navabi Self
Omar Badawy Self
Kate Cheka Self
Michael McKenzie Self

Share this page