BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2023, Episode 3 - Ballymena

BBC New Comedy Awards. Image shows left to right: Shane Clifford, Shane Todd, Hester Ectomy, Diona Doherty, Ruth Hunter, Richie Bree, Josh Pugh, Mustafa Saed, Martin Angolo
The Northern Irish heat in Ballymena is hosted by Shane Todd, with judges Martin Angolo and Diona Doherty.

Richie Bree

BBC New Comedy Awards. Richie Bree

Ruth Hunter

BBC New Comedy Awards. Ruth Hunter

Kit Rees (as Hester Ectomy)

BBC New Comedy Awards. Hester Ectomy

Mustafa Saed

BBC New Comedy Awards. Mustafa Saed

Shane Clifford

BBC New Comedy Awards. Shane Clifford


Winner: Hester Ectomy

Broadcast details

Wednesday 18th October 2023
BBC Three
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 19th October 2023 1:10am BBC3
Friday 20th October 2023 11:30pm BBC3
Sunday 22nd October 2023 11:20pm BBC3
Tuesday 24th October 2023 2:30am BBC3
Wednesday 25th October 2023 12:30am BBC3

Cast & crew

Josh Pugh Self
Guest cast
Shane Todd Host / Presenter
Martin Angolo Guest
Diona Doherty Guest
Shane Clifford Self
Kit Rees (as Hester Ectomy) Self
Ruth Hunter Self
Richie Bree Self
Mustafa Saed Self
Production team
Geraldine Dowd (as Geri Dowd) Director
Lindsay Jex Series Producer
Lucy Ansbro Executive Producer
Fiona Frankland Line Producer
Richard Dean Edit Producer
Stuart Pring Lighting Designer

Share this page