BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2022, Episode 7 - Cardiff - Grand Final

BBC New Comedy Awards. Image shows left to right: Nabil Abdulrashid, Omar Badawy, Dee Allum, Robbie McShane, Kerry Godliman, Dan Tiernan, Joshua Bethania, Marjolein Robertson, Fern Brady, Rosie Jones, Anna Thomas

Further details

The BBC's big comedy talent search, The New Comedy Awards, has reached its climax. Over a thousand applied; more than 80 went head-to-head at showcases across the country; 30 battled it out in the regional heats; now six finalists take to the stage in their bid to win over the judges and be crowned the BBC New Comedian of 2022.

Filmed in front of a full house at St David's Hall - the National Concert Hall which sits in the heart of Cardiff - this grand finale will also feature the award for the best New Digital Comedy of 2022.

The Grand Final is a culmination of six regional heats filmed across the UK. Dee Allum won in Deptford; Omar Badawy in Exeter; Robbie McShane in Derry; Marjolein Robertson in Kilmarnock; Dan Tiernan in Middlesbrough and Joshua Bethania sealed his place at the final in Coventry.

The awards are hosted by award-winning actress and comedian, Kerry Godliman. Head judge Fern Brady is joined by fellow stand-ups Rosie Jones and Nabil Abdulrashid. Former winner of the New Comedian Award 2021, Anna Thomas, will hand over the award to this year's recipient.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 9th November 2022
50 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 9th November 2022 11:40pm BBC1 Scot
Saturday 12th November 2022 12:40am BBC1 Wales

Cast & crew

Fern Brady Self
Guest cast
Kerry Godliman Host / Presenter
Rosie Jones Guest
Nabil Abdulrashid Guest
Anna Thomas Guest
Bachala Mbunzama (as Bash the Entertainer) Guest
Helen Christie Guest
Dee Allum Self
Omar Badawy Self
Robbie McShane Self
Marjolein Robertson Self
Dan Tiernan Self
Joshua Bethania Self
Production team
Geraldine Dowd (as Geri Dowd) Director
Lindsay Jex Series Producer
Lucy Ansbro Executive Producer
Fiona Frankland Line Producer
Richard Dean Edit Producer
Mark Olver Consultant Producer
Ben Caudell Executive Producer
Navi Lamba Executive Producer
Stuart Pring Lighting Designer
Stuart Pring Production Designer
Mark Robertson Composer

Share this page