BBC New Comedy Awards
BBC New Comedy Awards

BBC New Comedy Awards

  • TV stand-up
  • BBC One / BBC Three
  • 2021 - 2023
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

The BBC competition to find the best new stand-up comedians. Stars Mawaan Rizwan, Fern Brady and Josh Pugh.

  • Due to return for 2024

Episode menu

2023, Episode 2 - Leith

BBC New Comedy Awards. Image shows left to right: Alex MacKeith, Susie McCabe, Lauren Steven, Richard Gadd, Dean T Beirne, Josh Pugh, Kyrah Gray, Larry Dean, Daniel Petrie
Larry Dean hosts the second heat, coming from the Leith Theatre.

Further details

We're heading north to Scotland and the legendary Leith Theatre, a 1930s Art Deco venue that has been transformed into a multi-arts space which supports emerging Scottish talent and local creative projects. Five acts will take to the stage in front of a packed house of more than 200 comedy-goers.

Award-winning Glaswegian stand-up comedian Larry Dean is our host for the evening and joining him are the three judges - writer, comedian and actor Richard Gadd and multiple Scottish comedy award winner Susie McCabe, as well as our our erudite head judge Josh Pugh.

Lauren Steven, Dean T Beirne, Daniel Petrie, Kyrah Gray and Alex MacKeith perform their set before the judges decide who will go through to the Grand Final in November.

Dean T Beirne

BBC New Comedy Awards. Dean T Beirne

Lauren Steven

BBC New Comedy Awards. Lauren Steven

Kyrah Gray

BBC New Comedy Awards. Kyrah Gray

Daniel Petrie

BBC New Comedy Awards. Daniel Petrie

Alex MacKeith

BBC New Comedy Awards. Alex MacKeith


Winner: Dean T Beirne

Broadcast details

Wednesday 11th October 2023
BBC Three
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 12th October 2023 1:20am BBC3
Saturday 14th October 2023 1:20am BBC3
Sunday 15th October 2023 11:45pm BBC3
Tuesday 17th October 2023 1:35am BBC3

Cast & crew

Josh Pugh Self
Guest cast
Larry Dean Host / Presenter
Richard Gadd Guest
Susie McCabe Guest
Alex MacKeith Self
Lauren Steven Self
Dean T Beirne Self
Kyrah Gray Self
Daniel Petrie Self
Production team
Geraldine Dowd (as Geri Dowd) Director
Lindsay Jex Series Producer
Lucy Ansbro Executive Producer
Fiona Frankland Line Producer
Stuart Pring Lighting Designer

Share this page