Michael McIntyre's Comedy Roadshow - Series 2 Page 5

That's true too - tastes change. My tastes when I was a student was the more controversial the better.

I've shied away from that now. Controversial jokes are fine if they're clever, but if it's couple with a lazy knob gag, I shy away.

Stewart Lee is a comedian who is blatantly clever and everyone I know loves him, but I just never find myself laughing. I'm entertained, but soundlessly. I think Sadowitz is hysterical, mind.

Quote: Flavian @ September 29 2010, 2:43 PM BST

I still have that inbuilt 'it'saladysoIprobablywon'tidentifywithherasmuch'. I'm beating it, I promise!

:O

Don't you go turning me into a feminist!

Quote: Mr Lewis @ September 29 2010, 2:15 PM BST

His job is to make people laugh...if he can take any subject (old or new) and use it to make people laugh then he's doing his job.

I can't understand anyone having a go at any comedian who is getting such huge laughs....it's like saying a 100m runner who does 8.5sec is shit because he ran it in old flip flops!

To paraphrase Orwell, 'In the world of the third-rate, the second-rate has his own primetime comedy roadshow. With Terry Alderton guesting.'

No, you misread. I actually said "it's salady"...and...er...I could never identify with a vegetarian?

Quote: Flavian @ September 29 2010, 3:00 PM BST

I've shied away from that now. Controversial jokes are fine if they're clever, but if it's couple with a lazy knob gag, I shy away.

Oh definitely. This is why I dislike Frankie Boyle. Trying far too hard to be edgy.

Quote: Flavian @ September 29 2010, 3:02 PM BST

No, you misread. I actually said "it's salady"...and...er...I could never identify with a vegetarian?

That's more like it. *grumble grumble*

Quote: john lucas 101 @ September 29 2010, 3:04 PM BST

Oh definitely. This is why I dislike Frankie Boyle. Trying far too hard to be edgy.

Frankie Boyle used to be good, now it seems he only writes to shock, and not to make people laugh.