British Comedy Guide

Shameless. Frank Gallagher (David Threlfall). Copyright: Company Pictures.


Channel 4 and E4 comedy drama about a dysfunctional family. 139 episodes (11 series), 2004 - 2013. Stars David Threlfall, Gerard Kearns, Elliott Tittensor, Luke Tittensor and others.

Series 9, Episode 8

Times are hard and Marty and his apprentice Aidan attempt to redirect a power line to the Gallagher house to get free electricity. The plan goes disastrously wrong and a power cut plunges the whole estate into darkness.

Full synopsis

An air of menace builds on the streets and people retreat indoors. But the girls gather at the Maguire house and as the drink starts to flow, hidden truths emerge.

Jamie agrees to a lock-in for the guys at the Jockey, where Frank accepts the challenge to re-enact The Hare and the Tortoise, but loses something valuable in the process.

Chesney protects the shop from lawlessness, but pushes himself too far in the process, while Marty, charged up by having half a million volts pass through him, believes he's been spared for a purpose.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 21st February 2012
Channel 4
60 minutes


  1. Tuesday 28th February 2012 at 12:15am on C4
  2. Friday 1st June 2012 at 11:00pm on E4

Cast & crew

Regular cast
David Threlfall Frank Gallagher
Tina Malone Mimi Maguire
Rebecca Atkinson Karen Maguire
Nicky Evans Shane Maguire
Aaron McCusker Jamie Maguire
Sally Carman Kelly-Marie Ball
Alice Barry Lillian Tyler
Jack Deam Marty Fisher
Qasim Akhtar Chesney Karib
Valerie Lilley Patty Croker
Karen Bryson Avril Powell
Kira Martin Letitia Powell
Emmanuel Ighodaro Jackson Powell
Robbie Conway Aiden Croker
Angeline Ball Gloria Meak
Stephen Lord Dominic Meak
Kari Corbett Ruby Hepburn
Michael Taylor Billy Tutton
Writing team
Ed McCardie Writer
Loren McLaughlan Script Editor
Amy Roberts Script Editor
Production team
David Threlfall Director
Jean Holdsworth Series Producer
Ed McCardie Producer
George Faber Executive Producer
Charles Pattinson Executive Producer
Paul Abbott Executive Producer
David Threlfall Executive Producer
Russell Beeden Editor
Duncan Howell Production Designer
Murray Gold Composer
Tim Phillips Composer

Share this page