Chortle Awards 2017 nominees announced

Thursday 16th February 2017, 4:58pm

Chortle Awards 2017

Comedy website Chortle has announced the shortlists for its annual awards. Stewart Lee and Fleabag lead the list, with three nominations each.

Here are the nominations across fourteen categories.

Best Show

David Baddiel

David Baddiel (My Family Not The Sitcom)

Bridget Christie. Copyright: Idil Sukan

Bridget Christie (Because You Demanded It)

Richard Gadd

Richard Gadd (Monkey See Monkey Do)

Kieran Hodgson

Kieran Hodgson (Maesto)

Stewart Lee

Stewart Lee (Content Provider)

Best Tour

Billy Connolly

Billy Connolly (High Horse)

Romesh Ranganathan. Copyright: Andy Hollingworth

Romesh Ranganathan (Irrational)

Shooting Stars. Image shows from L to R: Vic Reeves, Bob Mortimer. Copyright: Channel X / Pett Productions

Reeves & Mortimer (Poignant Moments)

Mark Thomas. Copyright: Steve Ullathorne

Mark Thomas (The Red Shed)

Club Comic

Carl Donnelly

Carl Donnelly

Carey Marx

Carey Marx

Phil Nichol. Copyright: Steve Ullathorne

Phil Nichol

Pierre Novellie

Pierre Novellie

Best Compere

Laura Lexx

Laura Lexx

Justin Moorhouse

Justin Moorhouse

David Morgan. Copyright: Adam Johnson

David Morgan

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Character and Variety

Top Ten. Lolly Adefope

Lolly Adefope

Spencer Jones

Spencer Jones

Nick Mohammed

Nick Mohammed (for Mr Swallow)

Emma Sidi

Emma Sidi

Best Newcomer

Jayde Adams. Copyright: KT Watson

Jayde Adams

Tom Ward. Copyright: Steve Ullathorne

Tom Ward

Sophie Willan. Copyright: Steve Ullathorne

Sophie Willan

Bilal Zafar

Bilal Zafar

Breakthrough Act

Joel Dommett

Joel Dommett

Scott Gibson

Scott Gibson

Tez Ilyas. Copyright: Steve Ullathorne

Tez Ilyas

Suzi Ruffell

Suzi Ruffell

TV Comedian

The IT Crowd. Moss (Richard Ayoade)

Richard Ayoade

Taskmaster. Greg Davies. Copyright: Avalon Television

Greg Davies

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle. Stewart Lee. Copyright: BBC

Stewart Lee

Asian Provocateur. Romesh Ranganathan. Copyright: BBC

Romesh Ranganathan

Katherine Ryan In Trouble. Katherine Ryan

Katherine Ryan

TV Award

Alan Partridge's Scissored Isle. Alan Partridge (Steve Coogan). Copyright: Baby Cow Productions

Alan Partridge's Scissored Isle

Fleabag. Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures


Mum. Cathy (Lesley Manville)


People Just Do Nothing. Image shows from L to R: Chabuddy G (Asim Chaudhry), Beats (Hugo Chegwin), Grindah (Allan Mustafa), Steves (Steve Stamp), Decoy (Daniel Sylvester Woolford). Copyright: Roughcut Television

People Just Do Nothing

Best TV Comedy Entertainment

Alan Davies: As Yet Untitled. Alan Davies. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment

Alan Davies: As Yet Untitled

Dave Gorman: Modern Life Is Goodish. Dave Gorman. Copyright: Liberty Bell

Dave Gorman's Modern Life Is Goodish

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle. Stewart Lee. Copyright: BBC

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television


Best TV Actor

Fleabag. Godmother (Olivia Colman). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures

Olivia Colman (Fleabag/Flowers)

Mum. Cathy (Lesley Manville)

Lesley Manville (Mum)

Cunk On.... Philomena Cunk (Diane Morgan)

Diane Morgan (Motherland/Philomena Cunk)

Fleabag. Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures

Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Fleabag)

Radio Award

Alexei Sayle's Imaginary Sandwich Bar. Alexei Sayle. Copyright: BBC

Alexei Sayle's Imaginary Sandwich Bar

Image shows from L to R: Elis James, John Robins

Elis James & John Robins (Radio X)

Deborah Frances-White

Deborah Frances-White Rolls The Dice

Mark Steel's In Town. Mark Steel. Copyright: BBC

Mark Steel's In Town

Internet Award

Adam Buxton

Adam Buxton's podcast

Image shows from L to R: Sofie Hagen, Deborah Frances-White

The Guilty Feminist

The Parapod. Image shows from L to R: Barry Dodds, Ian Boldsworth

The Parapod

Next Up


Book Award

Alan Partridge: Nomad. Steve Coogan

Alan Partridge: Nomad

Sara Pascoe

Sara Pascoe - Animal

Shaparak Khorsandi. Copyright: Heathcliff O'Malley

Shappi Khorsandi - Nina Is Not OK

Isy Suttie

Isy Suttie - The Actual One

The winners will be decided by public vote, with the results announced at a ceremony in March.

The shortlists were decided by Chortle editor Steve Bennett, Alice Jones (i newspaper), Tania Harrison (Festival Republic), Julia Chamberlain (Jongleurs), Claire Smith (The Scotsman), Bruce Dessau (Beyond The Joke) and freelance journalist Jay Richardson.

Share this page