Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC
Yes, Prime Minister

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Two
  • 1986 - 1988
  • 16 episodes (2 series)

Jim Hacker finds himself suddenly promoted to the position of Prime Minister. Perhaps unfortunately, Sir Humphrey Appleby and Bernard Wooley accompany him upwards. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Deborah Norton

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 1,445

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 7 - The National Education Service

Once again, Jim faces stern opposition from the Civil Service when he proposes allowing parents to choose which school their child should go to. After all, what parent is discerning enough to know the difference between a good or bad school? Apart from the senior Mr and Mrs Appleby, of course!

Broadcast details

Thursday 21st January 1988
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 8th June 2011 2:10am Gold
Sunday 21st August 2011 10:40am Gold
Tuesday 22nd November 2011 11:20am Gold
Tuesday 22nd November 2011 5:20pm Gold
Friday 14th September 2012 1:00pm Gold
Friday 14th September 2012 7:00pm Gold
Thursday 29th November 2012 10:20pm Gold
Friday 30th November 2012 1:30am Gold
Tuesday 12th February 2013 9:40pm Gold
Wednesday 13th February 2013 1:30am Gold
Thursday 21st February 2013 8:20am Gold
Thursday 21st February 2013 1:40pm Gold
Thursday 17th October 2013 6:20pm Gold
Friday 18th October 2013 12:20pm Gold
Thursday 24th July 2014 7:00pm Gold
Wednesday 6th May 2015 3:20pm Gold
Thursday 25th June 2015 7:40pm Gold
Friday 3rd July 2015 5:40pm Gold
Wednesday 19th August 2015 7:40pm Gold
Friday 4th September 2015 1:45pm BBC2
Monday 13th June 2016 10:00pm Yesterday
Tuesday 14th June 2016 8:40pm Yesterday
Tuesday 18th October 2016 2:15pm BBC2
Friday 24th February 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Friday 24th February 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Tuesday 21st March 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Tuesday 21st March 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Monday 27th November 2017 7:35am Gold
Wednesday 3rd January 2018 1:10am Gold
Thursday 4th January 2018 12:10am Gold
Wednesday 28th February 2018 7:25am Gold
Tuesday 24th May 2022 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 29th May 2022 12:15am BBC4

Cast & crew

Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Deborah Norton Dorothy Wainwright
Guest cast
John Nettleton Sir Arnold Robinson (Former Cabinet Secretary)
Peter Cartwright Jeffrey Pearson (Chief Whip)
Jerome Willis Neil (Party Chairman)
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Gloria Clayton Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page