Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC
Yes, Prime Minister

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Two
  • 1986 - 1988
  • 16 episodes (2 series)

Jim Hacker finds himself suddenly promoted to the position of Prime Minister. Perhaps unfortunately, Sir Humphrey Appleby and Bernard Wooley accompany him upwards. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Deborah Norton

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 1,395

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 1 - Man Overboard

Plans to move a number of military bases to the north of England, in an effort to reduce unemployment levels in the region, a dealt a blow when Sir Humphrey fabricates an inter-Cabinet plot against the PM. With resignations on the cards, Jim has some tricky posturing to pull off.

Broadcast details

Thursday 3rd December 1987
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 2nd June 2011 1:50am Gold
Sunday 14th August 2011 10:45am Gold
Monday 14th November 2011 11:20am Gold
Monday 14th November 2011 5:20pm Gold
Tuesday 11th September 2012 1:00pm Gold
Tuesday 11th September 2012 7:00pm Gold
Thursday 8th November 2012 10:20pm Gold
Friday 9th November 2012 1:30am Gold
Tuesday 8th January 2013 9:00pm Gold
Wednesday 9th January 2013 12:15am Gold
Wednesday 13th February 2013 8:20am Gold
Wednesday 13th February 2013 1:40pm Gold
Wednesday 9th October 2013 6:15pm Gold
Thursday 10th October 2013 12:20pm Gold
Tuesday 28th April 2015 7:30am Gold
Friday 24th July 2015 7:00pm Gold
Tuesday 1st September 2015 1:45pm BBC2
Monday 30th November 2015 1:40am Gold
Thursday 31st December 2015 2:55am Gold
Monday 16th May 2016 10:00pm Yesterday
Tuesday 17th May 2016 8:40pm Yesterday
Monday 10th October 2016 2:30pm BBC2
Thursday 9th March 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Thursday 9th March 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 4th June 2017 11:20pm Yesterday
Monday 5th June 2017 4:20pm Yesterday
Friday 17th November 2017 7:45am Gold
Friday 12th January 2018 7:25am Gold
Tuesday 20th February 2018 7:25am Gold
Tuesday 22nd March 2022 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 27th March 2022 12:30am BBC4
Tuesday 20th February 2024 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 25th February 2024 1:10am BBC4

Cast & crew

Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Guest cast
Frederick Treves Sir Guy Howard (General / Chief of the Defence Staff)
John Nettleton Sir Arnold Robinson (Former Cabinet Secretary)
Michael Byrne Dudley Belling (Employment Secretary)
Peter Cartwright Jeffrey Pearson (Chief Whip)
David Glover Sir Alan Guthrie (Permanent Secretary to the MOD)
David Conville Sir Maxwell Hopkins (Defence Secretary)
Philip Anthony Brian Smithson (Environment Secretary)
Philip Blaine Eric Jeffries (Chancellor of the Exchequer)
Geoffrey Cousins Neil Hitchcock (Transport Secretary)
Hilary Field Downing Street Official
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Valerie Warrender Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page