Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC
Yes, Prime Minister

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Two
  • 1986 - 1988
  • 16 episodes (2 series)

Jim Hacker finds himself suddenly promoted to the position of Prime Minister. Perhaps unfortunately, Sir Humphrey Appleby and Bernard Wooley accompany him upwards. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Deborah Norton

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 1,515

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 8 - One Of Us

A former head of MI5 is posthumously revealed to have been routinely passing information to the Russians during key Cold War years. An embarrassing story for any Government, but the situation becomes particularly tricky when it emerges that Humphrey chaired an inquiry that cleared him of such claims at the time...

Broadcast details

Thursday 27th February 1986
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 14th August 2011 10:05am Gold
Friday 11th November 2011 11:20am Gold
Friday 11th November 2011 5:20pm Gold
Thursday 31st May 2012 11:40pm Gold
Friday 1st June 2012 2:00am Gold
Monday 10th September 2012 1:40pm Gold
Monday 10th September 2012 7:35pm Gold
Tuesday 12th February 2013 8:20am Gold
Tuesday 12th February 2013 1:35pm Gold
Tuesday 8th October 2013 6:20pm Gold
Wednesday 9th October 2013 12:20pm Gold
Friday 19th December 2014 5:10pm Gold
Friday 24th April 2015 3:20pm Gold
Saturday 25th April 2015 8:25am Gold
Friday 29th May 2015 7:00am Gold
Thursday 20th August 2015 2:15pm BBC2
Monday 30th November 2015 1:00am Gold
Wednesday 30th December 2015 3:15am Gold
Monday 9th May 2016 10:40pm Yesterday
Tuesday 10th May 2016 9:20pm Yesterday
Friday 7th October 2016 2:30pm BBC2
Wednesday 8th March 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Wednesday 8th March 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 4th June 2017 10:40pm Yesterday
Monday 5th June 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Thursday 16th November 2017 7:20am Gold
Thursday 11th January 2018 7:30am Gold
Saturday 24th February 2018 7:15am Gold
Tuesday 15th March 2022 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 20th March 2022 1:05am BBC4
Tuesday 13th February 2024 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 18th February 2024 12:45am BBC4

Cast & crew

Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Guest cast
Miranda Forbes Downing Street Secretary
John Nettleton Sir Arnold Robinson (Former Cabinet Secretary)
Michael Aldridge Sir Geoffrey Hastings (Director-General of MI5)
John Normington Sir Norman Block (Permanent Secretary to the MOD)
Martin Muncaster Self
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Gloria Clayton Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page