British Comedy Guide

Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

BBC Two sitcom about politics. 16 episodes (2 series), 1986 - 1988. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and others.

Series 1, Episode 4 is repeated on Gold on Saturday at 8:05am

Series 1, Episode 7 - The Bishops Gambit

The position of Dean at Bury St Edmunds has become vacant, and as PM, it's - in practical terms - Jim's job to choose who should take the post. Unfortunately, of the two names put forward for the role, one is a Marxist and the other an atheist, neither of which appeal much to Hacker!

Broadcast details

Thursday 20th February 1986
30 minutes


  1. Thursday 10th November 2011 at 11:20am on Gold
  2. Thursday 10th November 2011 at 5:20pm on Gold
  3. Wednesday 30th May 2012 at 11:40pm on Gold
  4. Thursday 31st May 2012 at 2:00am on Gold
  5. Monday 10th September 2012 at 1:00pm on Gold
  6. Monday 10th September 2012 at 7:00pm on Gold
  7. Sunday 20th January 2013 at 8:10am on Gold
  8. Sunday 20th January 2013 at 3:35pm on Gold
  9. Monday 11th February 2013 at 8:20am on Gold
  10. Monday 11th February 2013 at 1:45pm on Gold
  11. Monday 7th October 2013 at 6:20pm on Gold
  12. Tuesday 8th October 2013 at 12:30pm on Gold
  13. Wednesday 17th December 2014 at 5:10pm on Gold
  14. Thursday 23rd April 2015 at 3:20pm on Gold
  15. Thursday 28th May 2015 at 7:30am on Gold
  16. Wednesday 19th August 2015 at 2:15pm on BBC2
  17. Sunday 29th November 2015 at 12:20am on Gold
  18. Wednesday 30th December 2015 at 2:45am on Gold
  19. Monday 9th May 2016 at 10:00pm on Yesterday
  20. Tuesday 10th May 2016 at 8:40pm on Yesterday
  21. Thursday 6th October 2016 at 2:30pm on BBC2
  22. Tuesday 7th March 2017 at 3:40pm on Yesterday
  23. Tuesday 7th March 2017 at 9:40pm on Yesterday
  24. Sunday 4th June 2017 at 10:00pm on Yesterday
  25. Monday 5th June 2017 at 3:00pm on Yesterday
  26. Wednesday 15th November 2017 at 7:45am on Gold
  27. Wednesday 10th January 2018 at 7:20am on Gold

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Guest cast
Donald Pickering Sir Richard Wharton (Permanent Secretary to the Foreign Office)
Frank Middlemass Sir William Guthrie (Master of Baillie College)
William Fox Bursar of Ballie College
Ronnie Stevens Peter Harding (Chairman of the Crown Appointments Commission)
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Gloria Clayton Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page