Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

BBC Two sitcom about politics. 16 episodes (2 series), 1986 - 1988. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Deborah Norton.

Series 1, Episode 3 - The Smoke Screen

Jim finds himself frustrated, as ever, by the conflicting demands of his colleagues, the Civil Service, and interest groups. This time the health of the nation is as stake as the Minister for Health puts forward anti-smoking proposals, whilst Jim is already struggling with the Treasury to find tax cuts.

Broadcast details

Thursday 23rd January 1986
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Guest cast
John Barron Sir Ian Whitworth (Permanent Secretary to the DHSS)
Clive Merrison Dr. Peter Thorne (Minister of Health)
Peter Cellier Sir Frank Gordon (Permanent Secretary to the Treasury)
Bill Wallis Leslie Potts (Minister of Sport)
Brian Hawksley Gerald (Chairman of British Tobacco Group)
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 29 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see editor, composer & production designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?