Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC
Yes, Prime Minister

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Two
  • 1986 - 1988
  • 16 episodes (2 series)

Jim Hacker finds himself suddenly promoted to the position of Prime Minister. Perhaps unfortunately, Sir Humphrey Appleby and Bernard Wooley accompany him upwards. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Deborah Norton

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 1,527

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 5 - Power To The People

Frustrated by the continued obstacle of local councils to central government policy, not to mention their unwieldynature and lack of democratic accountability, Hacker finds himself welcoming radical reform proposals from a leading professor. Neither Sir Humphrey, nor a troublesome militant socialist feminist council leader, however, are keen on the plans.

Broadcast details

Thursday 7th January 1988
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Saturday 20th August 2011 11:20am Gold
Friday 18th November 2011 11:20am Gold
Friday 18th November 2011 5:20pm Gold
Thursday 13th September 2012 1:00pm Gold
Thursday 13th September 2012 7:00pm Gold
Thursday 22nd November 2012 10:20pm Gold
Friday 23rd November 2012 1:30am Gold
Tuesday 29th January 2013 9:40pm Gold
Wednesday 30th January 2013 1:00am Gold
Tuesday 19th February 2013 8:20am Gold
Tuesday 19th February 2013 1:35pm Gold
Tuesday 15th October 2013 6:20pm Gold
Wednesday 16th October 2013 12:30pm Gold
Saturday 14th June 2014 8:00pm BBC2
Friday 20th June 2014 7:00pm BBC2 Scot
Friday 21st August 2015 6:50pm Gold
Thursday 3rd September 2015 1:45pm BBC2
Wednesday 16th December 2015 12:50am Gold
Friday 1st January 2016 2:30am Gold
Monday 6th June 2016 10:00pm Yesterday
Tuesday 7th June 2016 8:40pm Yesterday
Friday 14th October 2016 2:30pm BBC2
Thursday 16th March 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Thursday 16th March 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 18th June 2017 10:00pm Yesterday
Monday 19th June 2017 3:00pm Yesterday
Thursday 23rd November 2017 7:25am Gold
Thursday 18th January 2018 7:25am Gold
Friday 19th January 2018 2:30am Gold
Monday 26th February 2018 7:25am Gold
Tuesday 10th May 2022 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 15th May 2022 12:15am BBC4

Cast & crew

Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Deborah Norton Dorothy Wainwright
Guest cast
Miranda Forbes Downing Street Secretary
John Nettleton Sir Arnold Robinson (Former Cabinet Secretary)
Gwen Taylor Agnes Moorhouse (Leader of Houndsworth Council)
Jonathan Adams Professor Marriott
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Valerie Warrender Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page