British Comedy Guide

Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

BBC Two sitcom about politics. 16 episodes (2 series), 1986 - 1988. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and others.

Series 1, Episode 4 is repeated on Gold on Saturday at 8:05am

Series 1, Episode 2 - The Ministerial Broadcast

Jim's still insisting on carrying out his 'grand design' for Britain's security - or at least as much of it as possible, and intends to use a television address to the nation to introduce it. There are a few hurdles to overcome first, however; not least the content of the script, and his appearance!

Broadcast details

Thursday 16th January 1986
30 minutes


  1. Sunday 7th August 2011 at 10:00am on Gold
  2. Thursday 3rd November 2011 at 11:20am on Gold
  3. Thursday 3rd November 2011 at 5:25pm on Gold
  4. Wednesday 23rd May 2012 at 11:40pm on Gold
  5. Thursday 24th May 2012 at 1:30am on Gold
  6. Wednesday 5th September 2012 at 1:40pm on Gold
  7. Wednesday 5th September 2012 at 7:40pm on Gold
  8. Sunday 13th January 2013 at 8:40pm on Dave
  9. Monday 4th February 2013 at 8:20am on Gold
  10. Monday 4th February 2013 at 1:40pm on Gold
  11. Tuesday 4th March 2014 at 8:20pm on Gold
  12. Wednesday 5th March 2014 at 12:15pm on Gold
  13. Thursday 4th September 2014 at 6:50pm on Gold
  14. Friday 5th September 2014 at 12:10pm on Gold
  15. Thursday 16th April 2015 at 3:20pm on Gold
  16. Tuesday 26th May 2015 at 7:30am on Gold
  17. Wednesday 12th August 2015 at 1:45pm on BBC2
  18. Thursday 19th November 2015 at 1:50am on Gold
  19. Sunday 27th December 2015 at 3:05am on Gold
  20. Wednesday 20th April 2016 at 10:40pm on Yesterday
  21. Tuesday 27th September 2016 at 10:35pm on Yesterday
  22. Wednesday 28th September 2016 at 9:15pm on Yesterday
  23. Thursday 29th September 2016 at 2:30pm on BBC2
  24. Sunday 14th May 2017 at 10:40pm on Yesterday
  25. Monday 15th May 2017 at 3:40pm on Yesterday
  26. Saturday 20th May 2017 at 7:15am on Gold
  27. Wednesday 8th November 2017 at 7:10am on Gold
  28. Wednesday 3rd January 2018 at 7:35am on Gold
  29. Saturday 13th January 2018 at 7:20am on Gold
  30. Sunday 14th January 2018 at 3:25am on Gold

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Guest cast
Barry Stanton Malcolm Warren (Press Officer)
John Wells Godfrey (TV Producer)
Brian Gwaspari David (Permanent Secretary to the Employment)
Carolyn Lyster Makeup Artist
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Gloria Clayton Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page