Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

BBC Two sitcom about politics. 16 episodes (2 series), 1986 - 1988. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Deborah Norton.

Series 1, Episode 1 - The Grand Design

It's only been 3 days since Jim found himself elevated to Downing Street, and already the strains of the job are beginning to set in. When is the point of 'last resort' for the ultimate deterrent? Should there even be one? Could the re-introduction of conscription solve unemployment? And how will he get some lunch?

Broadcast details

Thursday 9th January 1986
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Guest cast
Frederick Treves Sir Guy Howard (General / Chief of the Defence Staff)
Oscar Quitak Chief Scientific Adviser
Barry Stanton Malcolm Warren (Press Officer)
Jonathan Stephens Security Man
Miranda Forbes Downing Street Secretary
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 34 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see editor, composer & production designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?