Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC
Yes, Prime Minister

Yes, Prime Minister (1986)

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Two
  • 1986 - 1988
  • 16 episodes (2 series)

Jim Hacker finds himself suddenly promoted to the position of Prime Minister. Perhaps unfortunately, Sir Humphrey Appleby and Bernard Wooley accompany him upwards. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Deborah Norton

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 5 - A Real Partnership

Sir Humphrey and Sir Frank form an unlikely bond over the increase in Civil Service pay salaries. The Prime Minister, however, is far less easily convinced.

Broadcast details

Thursday 6th February 1986
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Saturday 13th August 2011 10:00am Gold
Tuesday 8th November 2011 11:20am Gold
Tuesday 8th November 2011 5:20pm Gold
Monday 28th May 2012 11:40pm Gold
Tuesday 29th May 2012 2:00am Gold
Friday 7th September 2012 1:00pm Gold
Friday 7th September 2012 7:00pm Gold
Sunday 20th January 2013 7:30am Gold
Sunday 20th January 2013 2:55pm Gold
Thursday 7th February 2013 8:20am Gold
Thursday 7th February 2013 1:40pm Gold
Wednesday 2nd October 2013 12:20pm Gold
Thursday 3rd October 2013 6:20pm Gold
Friday 4th October 2013 12:20pm Gold
Friday 5th September 2014 6:50pm Gold
Tuesday 21st April 2015 3:20pm Gold
Wednesday 22nd April 2015 7:30am Gold
Monday 17th August 2015 2:15pm BBC2
Tuesday 29th December 2015 3:00am Gold
Wednesday 27th April 2016 10:40pm Yesterday
Tuesday 4th October 2016 2:35pm BBC2
Tuesday 4th October 2016 3:30pm BBC2 Wales
Thursday 2nd March 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Thursday 2nd March 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 21st May 2017 10:40pm Yesterday
Monday 22nd May 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Monday 13th November 2017 7:25am Gold
Monday 8th January 2018 7:30am Gold
Saturday 3rd February 2018 8:20am Gold
Tuesday 15th February 2022 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 20th February 2022 12:50am BBC4
Tuesday 30th January 2024 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 4th February 2024 12:00am BBC4

Cast & crew

Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Deborah Norton Dorothy Wainwright
Guest cast
Peter Cellier Sir Frank Gordon (Permanent Secretary to the Treasury)
John Nettleton Sir Arnold Robinson (Former Cabinet Secretary)
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Valerie Warrender Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page