The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Series 1, Episode 3 - Teed Off

Louis and Briggs are sent undercover on a golf course, in order to spy on the suspected gun-running deals of a previously legitimate arms dealer. Unfortunately neither of the pair know the first thing about the game.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 10th February 1993
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Jimmy Tarbuck Johnny McKenna
Michael Godley Club Steward
Don Gallagher Sergeant Williams
Nosher Powell McKenna Employee 1
Marcus Eyre McKenna Employee 2
Tony Jacklin (as Tony Jacklin C.B.E.) Self
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Ed Bye Director
Ed Bye Producer
Nic Phillips Executive Producer
Paul Smith Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, editor & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?