The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Series 2, Episode 1 - Collared

Having caused a bomb scare that made Her Majesty late for a state banquet, the Super relieves Briggs and Louis of their duties pending an investigation. Dave has a plan to get back in his good books...

Broadcast details

Wednesday 2nd March 1994
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Ron Cook Blind Billy
Gwen Taylor Annie
Jason Hall Policeman in Briefing
Christopher Beaumont Kenny
Phil Atkinson Egghead Evans
Henry Naylor Police Driver
Andy Parsons Armed Officer
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Ed Bye Director
Ed Bye Producer
Nic Phillips Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, editor & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?