The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.


The epnoymous detectives, Briggs and Louis, were first seen in sketches during the successful late 1980s series, Canned Carrott.

Briggs and Louis made a return to TV screens for a two-part short story during the 2012 sketch show special, The One Jasper Carrott.