The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Go West Old Man

Cottam disappears after an operation goes wrong and an unarmed bank robber is killed. Briggs and Louis are sent to track him down and bring him home, but the job is harder than it first seems.

Broadcast details

Sunday 28th December 1997
50 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Rory McGrath Tom Reid
John Ratzenberger Edsel
Elizabeth Kelly Mrs Connors
Brian Martell Rattlesnake Jack
Jocelyne Loewen Maisie
James Duggan Priest
John Wright Guard
Production team
Steve Knight Director
Nic Phillips Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, composer, editor, 1st assistant director, costume designer, make-up designer, casting director & director of photography credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?