The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Series 3, Episode 1 - D.C. Of Love

After 25 years of faithful service, and unbeknownst to them, Briggs and Louis face forced retirement. Cottam has one last task to put them to: as bait, catching a serial killer of single, sad, middle-aged men.

Broadcast details

Monday 9th January 1995
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Frank Windsor Chief Superintendent
Tony Selby Sgt. 'Nozzer' Richardson
Tricia George Blonde Woman
Diane Keen Mary
Leo Dolan Frightened Man
John Melainey Restaurant Manager
Max Digby Hopkins
Madeleine Newton 1st Blind Date Woman
Holly De Jong 2nd Blind Date Woman
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Ed Bye Director
Ed Bye Producer
Nic Phillips Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, editor & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?