The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Series 1, Episode 6 - Strangers In Paradise

Discovering that Bob and Dave hold a modicum of talent in a musical capacity, Cottam sends them to investigate an old-school gangland killing in which a night-club owner is the prime suspect.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 3rd March 1993
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Leslie Grantham Danny Kane
Georgina Hale Irene Mazola
Barry Cryer Detective Constable Simpson
Leon Herbert Polish Joe
Andy Lucas Greek Gangster
Alex Knight Scottish Gangster
Dave Atkins Ronnie
Lucy Davis Young Girl 1
Jeremy Fowlds Young Man 1
Jennifer Gibson Young Girl 2
Roger James Sewell Young Man 2
Jack Burns Bouncer
Jelena Budimir Rose
Elaine Lordan Female Plumber
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Ed Bye Director
Ed Bye Producer
Nic Phillips Executive Producer
Paul Smith Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, editor & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?