The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Ed Bye Director (Series 1-3)
Graeme Harper Director (Series 4-5)
Ed Bye Producer (Series 1-3)
Nic Phillips Producer (Series 5)
Nic Phillips Executive Producer (Series 1-4)
Paul Smith Executive Producer (Series 1)
Graham Hutchings Editor (Series 1-3)
Mark Sangster Editor (Series 4-5)
Andy Hamilton Production Designer
Keith Strachan Composer
Matthew Strachan Composer

For guest cast and crew see our episode guides


Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers.

  • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see 1st assistant director, costume designer, make-up designer, casting director & director of photography credits.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?