The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Series 1, Episode 4 - Acting Constables

Posted away from trouble in a cushy role as technical advisers on a TV crime drama, Bob and Dave find they do not fit in too well with the theatrical life.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 17th February 1993
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Anthony Head Simon
Peter Jeffrey Derek (Director)
Ruth Hudson Jane
Harold Innocent Viking
Eddie Webber Bank Robber
Clive Darby Assistant Director
Alan Bodenham Big Bird
Sion Tudor Owen Terry
Jimmy Batten Gangster
Michael Simkins Doctor
Noel Edmonds Self
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Ed Bye Director
Ed Bye Producer
Nic Phillips Executive Producer
Paul Smith Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, editor, composer & production assistant credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?