The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions
The Detectives

The Detectives

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1993 - 1997
  • 31 episodes (5 series)

Sitcom starring Robert Powell and Jasper Carrott as Dave Briggs and Bob Louis, the Met's most incompetent detectives. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 2 - Hostage

It's cup final day, Birmingham City vs Manchester United, putting Bob and Dave definitively at odds. Cottam has different plans for them after an escaped convict takes an elderly couple hostage.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 3rd February 1993
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Michael Melia Brian
Eileen Way Old Lady
Norman Lumsden Old Man
Stuart Fox Plain Clothes Officer
Philip Glenister Uniformed Officer
Nick Maloney Psychiatrist
John Motson Football Commentator (Voice)
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Ed Bye Director
Ed Bye Producer
Nic Phillips Executive Producer
Paul Smith Executive Producer
Graham Hutchings Editor
Andy Hamilton Production Designer
Keith Strachan Composer
Matthew Strachan Composer

Share this page