Doctor In The House. Image shows from L to R: Danny Hooley (Jonathan Lynn), Dave Briddock (Simon Cuff), Duncan Waring (Robin Nedwell), Mike Upton (Barry Evans), Paul Collier (George Layton), Dick Stuart-Clark (Geoffrey Davies).

Doctor In The House

ITV sitcom about a teaching hospital. 26 episodes (2 series), 1969 - 1970. Stars Barry Evans, Robin Nedwell, George Layton, Geoffrey Davies and others.

Series 1, Episode 1 - Why Do You Want To Be A Doctor?

New students Michael Upton and Duncan Waring find themselves mixing with veteran first-years Paul Collier and Dick Stuart-Clark, as they embark upon their medical training at St. Swithin's Hospital.

Broadcast details

Friday 11th July 1969
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Barry Evans Mike Upton
Robin Nedwell Duncan Waring
George Layton Paul Collier
Geoffrey Davies Dick Stuart-Clark
Ernest Clark Professor Geoffrey Loftus
Ralph Michael The Dean
Guest cast
Peter Bathurst Upton's Father
George Moon Bert
Sidney Vivian College Officer
Michael Harbour Smoothie
Mike Grady Nervous Boy
Emma Cochrane Miss Fisher
Fraser Kerr The Warden
Michael Burrell Stebbings
Mary Rennie Sister
Totti Truman Taylor Matron
Jeanne Mockford First Woman Patient
Elizabeth Archer Second Woman Patient
Michael Earl Policeman
Writing team
John Cleese Writer
Graham Chapman Writer
Production team
David Askey Director
Humphrey Barclay Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 8 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Production Designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?