Doctor In The House. Image shows from L to R: Danny Hooley (Jonathan Lynn), Dave Briddock (Simon Cuff), Duncan Waring (Robin Nedwell), Mike Upton (Barry Evans), Paul Collier (George Layton), Dick Stuart-Clark (Geoffrey Davies).

Doctor In The House

ITV sitcom about a teaching hospital. 26 episodes (2 series), 1969 - 1970. Stars Barry Evans, Robin Nedwell, George Layton, Geoffrey Davies and others.

Doctor In The House. Mike Upton (Barry Evans). Copyright: London Weekend Television.

Doctor In The House

Sitcom following junior doctor Michael Upton

1969 - 1970
26   (2 series), plus 2 short specials
Richard Gordon
Barry Evans, Robin Nedwell, George Layton, Geoffrey Davies, Ernest Clark, Simon Cuff, Ralph Michael, Martin Shaw and Jonathan Lynn
Graeme Garden and Bill Oddie
David Askey and Maurice Murphy
Humphrey Barclay

The (fictional) teaching hospital, St Swithin's, is the location of this medical sitcom. The action follows junior doctor Michael Upton, an earnest type but easily led astray by his colleagues, the laddish Waring and Collier and the smooth wastrel Stuart-Clark.

The recurring theme of this series (and indeed most of the succeeding series) was the clash between the keen interns and their intimidating superior Professor Loftus, a fearsome man.

Production Details

Part of

Doctor Series

Production company
Laugh track
Live audience

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Friday 11th July 1969 on ITV at 8:30pm
Last new broadcast
Friday 25th December 1970 on ITV at 6pm
Last repeat
Monday 16th January 2017 at 6:00am on ITV3

Website links