Awards 2014 results announced

Monday 26th January 2015, 1:30pm

Cabin Pressure. Arthur (John Finnemore). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.John Finnemore has been revealed as the big winner at the Awards 2014, picking up three prizes.

The Awards, now in their ninth year, are unique in the British comedy industry, being decided upon entirely by a large-scale open public vote, with no shortlist, judge or jury of any form.

Finnemore is the writer of hit Radio 4 sitcom Cabin Pressure, in which he also co-stars as the dim-witted Arthur (pictured). Featuring Stephanie Cole, Benedict Cumberbatch and Roger Allam, the series was voted both Best British Radio Sitcom and selected ahead of 386 other programmes by comedy fans as the single best Comedy Of The Year.

The writer and performer also presents the self-titled sketch show John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme. The show - which also stars Simon Kane, Carrie Quinlan, Lawry Lewin and Margaret Cabourn-Smith - picked up the Best British Radio Sketch Show gong.

The wins confirm Finnemore's place as the Awards' most successful comedy writer, having won - or with contributions to programmes such as That Mitchell & Webb Sound, shared in - more than a dozen accolades since the Awards' 2006 inception.

Commenting on his trio of wins this year, John Finnemore says: "I am absolutely delighted and astonished by this. As I gather there is no awards ceremony, I plan to spend today sitting in my flat wearing a bow tie with my pyjamas, drinking warm white wine, and presenting myself with trophies I've carved out of soap.

Cabin Pressure. Image shows from L to R: Arthur (John Finnemore), Douglas (Roger Allam), Carolyn (Stephanie Cole), Martin (Benedict Cumberbatch). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions."As I do so, I shall be thanking David Tyler, producer of Cabin Pressure; Ed Morrish, producer of Souvenir Programme; the superb casts of both shows; Caroline Raphael and Jane Berthoud at Radio 4, and of course

"I am particularly pleased and proud that a radio show has won the Comedy Of The Year category... but in fairness, you have to remember that Dan Tetsell, who plays Karl the ATC guy, was in Hollyoaks for a while, so no doubt we picked up a lot of extra votes from his fans."

The full 2014 results mark a clean sweep for the BBC, with not a single of the 'Best' comedy accolades going to another broadcaster. Other high-profile winners include Detectorists, which picked up the award for Best New British TV Sitcom; and Would I Lie To You?, which triumphed in the very competitive TV panel show category.

Dapper Laughs: On The Pull, the controversial ITV2 show starring Daniel O'Reilly, was the programme that polled the most negative votes.

Detectorists. Image shows from L to R: Lance Stater (Toby Jones), Andy Stone (Mackenzie Crook). Copyright: Channel X / Lola Entertainment.Best New British TV Sitcom 2014:


Miranda. Image shows from L to R: Tilly (Sally Phillips), Gary (Tom Ellis), Miranda (Miranda Hart), Stevie (Sarah Hadland), Penny (Patricia Hodge). Copyright: BBC.Best Returning British TV Sitcom 2014:


Cabin Pressure. Image shows from L to R: Arthur (John Finnemore), Douglas (Roger Allam), Carolyn (Stephanie Cole), Martin (Benedict Cumberbatch). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.Best British Radio Sitcom 2014:

Cabin Pressure

Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Martha Howe-Douglas, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton. Copyright: Lion Television / Citrus Television.Best British TV Sketch Show 2014

Horrible Histories

John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme. Image shows from L to R: Lawry Lewin, Carrie Quinlan, John Finnemore, Margaret Cabourn-Smith, Simon Kane. Copyright: BBC.Best British Radio Sketch Show 2014:

John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme

Would I Lie To You?. Image shows from L to R: David Mitchell, Rob Brydon, Lee Mack. Copyright: Zeppotron.Best British TV Panel Show 2014:

Would I Lie To You?

I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue. Image shows from L to R: Graeme Garden, Barry Cryer. Copyright: BBC.Best British Radio Panel Show 2014:

I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue

The Graham Norton Show. Graham Norton. Copyright: So Television.Best British TV Entertainment Show 2014:

The Graham Norton Show

Susan Calman Is Convicted. Susan Calman. Copyright: BBC.Best British Radio Entertainment Show 2014:

Susan Calman Is Convicted

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith. Copyright: BBC.Best British TV Comedy Drama 2014:

Inside No. 9

Cabin Pressure. Image shows from L to R: Douglas (Roger Allam), Carolyn (Stephanie Cole), Arthur (John Finnemore), Martin (Benedict Cumberbatch). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.Comedy Of The Year 2014:

Cabin Pressure

Blandings. Image shows from L to R: Beach (Tim Vine), Connie (Jennifer Saunders), Clarence (Timothy Spall), Freddie (Jack Farthing). Copyright: Mammoth Screen.British Comedy Guide Editors' Award 2014:


To find out more about the awards, and for further comment on the winners and find out which TV shows which picked up the most negative votes see: Awards 2014 - Results & Analysis

Latest news