Year Of The Rabbit. Detective Inspector Rabbit (Matt Berry). Copyright: Objective Productions.

Year Of The Rabbit

Channel 4 sitcom starring Matt Berry. 6 episodes (1 series) in 2019. Stars Matt Berry, Freddie Fox, Susan Wokoma, Alun Armstrong and others.

Another series is in development.

Year Of The Rabbit. Image shows from L to R: Tilly (Ashna Rabheru), Detective Inspector Rabbit (Matt Berry), Wilbur Strauss (Freddie Fox). Copyright: Objective Productions.

Series 1, Episode 5

As Flora faces the gallows for a crime she didn't commit, Rabbit is caught in an armed siege.

Further details

With Rabbit's lover, Flora, facing the gallows for a crime she didn't commit, Rabbit makes it his mission to do everything he can to save her. But it won't be easy, and he'll be risking his own life to do it. Plus he's under pressure from his embittered colleague Tanner who has made it his mission to bring Rabbit down using whatever means necessary, as punishment for the facial injury he sustained in an explosion he knows was meant for Rabbit.

But Rabbit's plans to rescue Flora quickly runs aground when he gets caught up in an armed siege - a dozen match girls are being held in a factory at gunpoint, and the man who's holding them, one Patrick Levant seemingly has no demands at all - other than that he will only talk to Rabbit. So Rabbit can't leave, or the girls will die. But if he stays, Flora will die. But why is Rabbit so important to Levant? Is somebody putting him up to this? And if so, who?

Strauss, meanwhile, has fallen in love, and while he's convinced that, this time, he's finally found the one (unlike the last one, who turned out to be a serial killer), Mabel has some information which is about to blow that theory apart.

Broadcast details

Monday 8th July 2019
Channel 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Matt Berry Detective Inspector Rabbit
Freddie Fox Wilbur Strauss
Susan Wokoma Mabel Wisbech
Alun Armstrong Chief Inspector Wisbech
Paul Kaye D.I. Tanner
David Dawson Joseph Merrick
Ann Mitchell Gwendoline
Keeley Hawes Lydia
Amer Chadha-Patel Keith
Guest cast
Jill Halfpenny Flora Wilson
Alistair Petrie Mr. Larkham
Craig Parkinson Patrick Levan
David Webber Newspaper Seller
Alan Peat Policeman
Amy Bowden Hettie
Peter Harding Assistant Commissioner
Ashna Rabheru Tilly
Savannah Read Urchin Girl
Writing team
Kevin Cecil Writer
Andy Riley Writer
Matt Berry Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Ben Taylor Director
Hannah Mackay Producer
Ben Farrell Executive Producer
Toby Stevens Executive Producer
Matt Berry Executive Producer
Andy Riley Executive Producer
Kevin Cecil Executive Producer
Ben Taylor Executive Producer


How to escape a hostage situation

Detective Rabbit attempts to defuse a hostage situation and uncovers a spooky clue in the process...

Featuring: Matt Berry (Detective Inspector Rabbit), Craig Parkinson (Patrick Levan).


Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 2 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see 1st assistant director, composer, make-up designer, costume designer, editor, production designer, director of photography, line producer & casting director credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?