Year Of The Rabbit. Detective Inspector Rabbit (Matt Berry). Copyright: Objective Productions.

Year Of The Rabbit

Channel 4 sitcom starring Matt Berry. 6 episodes (1 series) in 2019. Stars Matt Berry, Freddie Fox, Susan Wokoma, Alun Armstrong and others.

Year Of The Rabbit. Image shows from L to R: David Dawson, Taika Waititi. Copyright: Objective Productions.

Series 1, Episode 3

Gang warfare is raging in the East End. Wisbech sends Strauss and Mabel undercover, whilst Rabbit finds himself ostracised from the case due to his age.

Further details

Gang warfare is raging in the East End, with the Flower Girls and the Stepney Boys - two rival gangs of body snatchers - waging all-out war for turf and bodies. Wisbech sends Strauss and Mabel undercover to join the gangs, which involves Strauss taking lessons about how to be more 'street', and not to use the word 'spiffing' so much. For Mabel, she's hoping this might be her chance to gain a much-coveted Police badge.

Meanwhile Rabbit finds himself ostracised from the case due to his age - these are youth gangs - and he takes umbrage when Wisbech packs him off to an old people's home to investigate a spate of mysterious poisonings instead. But is he really too old for this game? And if so, what's to become of him?

Mabel's professional success is making her more and more useful to the Women's Society she's joined, but their designs on her are not necessarily benevolent. If she wasn't so enamoured of the free champagne, she might be a bit more aware of what was actually going on.

Broadcast details

Monday 24th June 2019
Channel 4
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Matt Berry Detective Inspector Rabbit
    Freddie Fox Wilbur Strauss
    Susan Wokoma Mabel Wisbech
    Alun Armstrong Chief Inspector Wisbech
    Paul Kaye D.I. Tanner
    David Dawson Joseph Merrick
    Ann Mitchell Gwendoline
    Keeley Hawes Lydia
    Amer Chadha-Patel Keith
    Guest cast
    David Webber Newspaper Seller
    Alan Peat Policeman
    Nadia Albina Tess
    Beatie Edney Miss McHenry
    Carla Harrison-Hodge Ginny
    Sally Sanders Baby
    Ellicia Simondwood Street Urchin
    Taika Waititi Musician
    Morgan Watkins Ernie
    Writing team
    Kevin Cecil Writer
    Andy Riley Writer
    Matt Berry Writer (Additional Material)
    Production team
    Ben Taylor Director
    Jay Arthur 1st Assistant Director
    Hannah Mackay Producer
    Ben Farrell Executive Producer
    Toby Stevens Executive Producer
    Matt Berry Executive Producer
    Andy Riley Executive Producer
    Kevin Cecil Executive Producer
    Ben Taylor Executive Producer
    Jo Alloway Line Producer
    Phil Hignett Editor
    Sam Harley (as Samantha Harley) Production Designer
    Nadira Seecoomar Casting Director
    Rosa Dias Costume Designer
    Dan Stafford-Clark (as Daniel Stafford-Clark) Director of Photography
    Jo Jenkins Make-up Designer
    Matt Berry Composer
    Oli Julian Composer
    Nick Foster Composer


    How to be Cockney

    To infiltrate an East End gang, Detective Rabbit takes Strauss to a special associate in order to teach him Cockney slang...

    Featuring: Matt Berry (Detective Inspector Rabbit), Freddie Fox (Wilbur Strauss), Paul Kaye (D.I. Tanner), David Dawson (Joseph Merrick), Taika Waititi (Musician).


    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 2 past repeats of this episode
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see 1st assistant director, make-up designer, costume designer, director of photography, line producer & casting director credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?