Year Of The Rabbit. Detective Inspector Rabbit (Matt Berry). Copyright: Objective Productions.

Year Of The Rabbit

Channel 4 sitcom starring Matt Berry. 6 episodes (1 series) in 2019. Stars Matt Berry, Freddie Fox, Susan Wokoma, Alun Armstrong and others.

Another series is in development.

Year Of The Rabbit. Image shows from L to R: Detective Inspector Rabbit (Matt Berry), Wilbur Strauss (Freddie Fox). Copyright: Objective Productions.

Series 1, Episode 1

Rabbit's been chasing bad guys for as long as he can remember, but these days his heart keeps stopping at inopportune moments.

Broadcast details

Monday 10th June 2019
Channel 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Matt Berry Detective Inspector Rabbit
Freddie Fox Wilbur Strauss
Susan Wokoma Mabel Wisbech
Alun Armstrong Chief Inspector Wisbech
Paul Kaye D.I. Tanner
David Dawson Joseph Merrick
Ann Mitchell Gwendoline
Keeley Hawes Lydia
Guest cast
Julie Dray Claudette (French Lady)
Muzz Khan Man in Blue Hat
George Potts Vicar
Leigh Quinn Bearded Lady
Daisy Samways Street Urchin
Daniel Tuite Mr Milsom
Caitlin Walsh Edith
David Webber Newspaper Seller
Angus Wright Sir Giles Linley
Writing team
Kevin Cecil Writer
Andy Riley Writer
Matt Berry Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Ben Taylor Director
Hannah Mackay Producer
Ben Farrell Executive Producer
Toby Stevens Executive Producer
Matt Berry Executive Producer
Andy Riley Executive Producer
Kevin Cecil Executive Producer
Ben Taylor Executive Producer


First 10 minutes of Year Of The Rabbit

A first look at the new series.

Featuring: Matt Berry (Detective Inspector Rabbit), Freddie Fox (Wilbur Strauss), Susan Wokoma (Mabel Wisbech), Alun Armstrong (Chief Inspector Wisbech), Paul Kaye (D.I. Tanner), Ann Mitchell (Gwendoline), Muzz Khan (Man in Blue Hat), George Potts (Vicar), Daisy Samways (Street Urchin), Daniel Tuite (Mr Milsom), David Webber (Newspaper Seller), Angus Wright (Sir Giles Linley).


Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • See 9 press clippings related to this episode
  • Broadcast details of 2 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see 1st assistant director, casting director, composer, make-up designer, costume designer, editor, production designer, director of photography & line producer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?