The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television
The New Statesman

The New Statesman (1987)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1987 - 1994
  • 28 episodes (4 series)

Sitcom parody of 1980s Conservatism. Tory MP Alan B'Stard holds the largest majority in the House: his interests are money, power, sex, and himself. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper, John Nettleton and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 3 - A Wapping Conspiracy

A cog is thrown in the works of Alan's womanising plans when a large newspaper scandal breaks arouns him.

Broadcast details

Sunday 29th January 1989
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Saturday 31st January 2015 9:00pm London Live
Saturday 28th February 2015 9:30pm London Live
Monday 2nd March 2015 11:30pm London Live
Wednesday 4th March 2015 11:30pm London Live
Thursday 24th November 2016 3:30am London Live
Sunday 27th November 2016 2:15am London Live
Monday 28th November 2016 1:00am London Live

Cast & crew

Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
Marsha Fitzalan Sarah B'Stard
Victor Lucas Mr. Speaker
Berwick Kaler Geoff Dicquead
Guest cast
Jerome Willis Sir Austin Periam
David Stoll Judge
Arthur Cox Ronald Barrett
Paula Jacobs Labour Woman MP
Debbie Killingback Pamela
Cheryl Miller Dhorinja
Kim Benson Agnes
Andy Serkis Peter Moran
Peter Woods Self
Richard Whitmore Self
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Geoffrey Sax Director
Tony Charles Producer
David Reynolds Executive Producer
Stuart Quarmby Editor
Phil Cooke Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer

Share this page