The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television.

The New Statesman (1987)

ITV sitcom about a ruthless politician. 28 episodes (4 series), 1987 - 1994. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper and others.

Series 2, Episode 2 - Live From Westminster

Alan's charisma and ruthlessness have let his fame grow: but now he's known as the most charismatic Member of the House Maggie decides he needs to be taken down a notch, and reminded that no MP is bigger than the party.

Broadcast details

Sunday 22nd January 1989
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
Marsha Fitzalan Sarah B'Stard
John Nettleton Sir Stephen Baxter
Victor Lucas Mr. Speaker
Guest cast
Steve Nallon Mrs. Thatcher
Alan Downer Minister
Colin Wyatt Stage Hand
Charmian May Game Show Producer
Natasha Gray Make Up Girl
Erick Ray Evans Hugo
John Segal Clive
Peter Spraggon Policeman at No 10
Lynda Lee Lewis Game Show Hostess
Nicholas Parsons Self
Roger Kitter Self
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Geoffrey Sax Director
Tony Charles Producer
David Reynolds Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 10 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see composer, editor, production designer & floor manager credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?