The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television
The New Statesman

The New Statesman (1987)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1987 - 1994
  • 28 episodes (4 series)

Sitcom parody of 1980s Conservatism. Tory MP Alan B'Stard holds the largest majority in the House: his interests are money, power, sex, and himself. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper, John Nettleton and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 1 - Fatal Extraction

Alan discovers millions of pounds worth of oil is contained deep under Hackney Marshes and sets about trying to claim it for his own gain. In order to do so, he proposes bold constitutional reform...

Broadcast details

Sunday 15th January 1989
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Saturday 24th January 2015 9:00pm London Live
Sunday 25th January 2015 12:00am London Live
Saturday 21st February 2015 10:30pm London Live
Monday 23rd February 2015 1:30am London Live
Wednesday 25th February 2015 1:15am London Live
Monday 17th August 2015 9:30pm London Live
Monday 17th August 2015 9:30pm London Live
Tuesday 22nd November 2016 2:00am London Live
Wednesday 23rd November 2016 1:15am London Live
Thursday 24th November 2016 2:30am London Live

Cast & crew

Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
Victor Lucas Mr. Speaker
Guest cast
Suzette Llewellyn Georgina
Bernard Gallagher Chief Whip
Nick Stringer Bob Crippen MP
Tamsin Heatley Annalena
Terence Hillyer Larry
Alan Hardwick Newscaster
Allan Hargreaves Self
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Geoffrey Sax Director
Tony Charles Producer
David Reynolds Executive Producer
Stuart Quarmby Editor
Lance Tattersall Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer

Share this page