The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television
The New Statesman

The New Statesman (1987)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV
  • 1987 - 1994
  • 28 episodes (4 series)

Sitcom parody of 1980s Conservatism. Tory MP Alan B'Stard holds the largest majority in the House: his interests are money, power, sex, and himself. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper, John Nettleton and more.

Episode menu

Who Shot Alan B'Stard?

Following the attempt on his life, Alan puts himself at the forefront of a campaign to reinstate capital punishment. But Sarah and Piers know his secrets, and the idiocy of the latter results in Alan on death row - and for once, it's a crime he didn't commit.

Broadcast details

Sunday 14th January 1990
70 minutes

Cast & crew

Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
Marsha Fitzalan Sarah B'Stard
Terence Alexander Sir Greville McDonald
Berwick Kaler Geoff Dicquead
Guest cast
Alan Hardwick Newscaster
Steve Nallon Mrs. Thatcher
Peter Blake Kerry Grout
John Normington Sidney Bliss
Jerome Willis Sir Wallis Austin Q.C.
Geoffrey Chater Justice Saunders
Michael Bilton Sir William Horsey Q.C.
David Simeon P.C. Mathews
Paul Birchard Ximenes
Raad Rawi Chief Amlumi
Janine Duvitski Interpreter
Harriet Reynolds Dame Josie
Tom Harrison Vicar
David Beale Mr Speaker
John Rapley Bookmakers Shop Manager
James Quinn Journalist
Roger Grainger Usher
Dickie Davies Self
John McCririck Self
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Geoffrey Sax Director
David Reynolds Producer
Lance Tattersall Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer

Share this page