The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television.

The New Statesman (1987)

ITV sitcom about a ruthless politician. 28 episodes (4 series), 1987 - 1994. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper and others.

Series 1, Episode 1 - Happiness Is A Warm Gun

Following his comfortable election to the House, Alan is forced to help the police become armed - and in turn make a fortune from gun sales.

Broadcast details

Sunday 13th September 1987
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
    Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
    Marsha Fitzalan Sarah B'Stard
    Rowena Cooper (as R.R. Cooper) Norman Bormann
    John Nettleton Sir Stephen Baxter
    Guest cast
    Nick Stringer Bob Crippen MP
    Vivien Heilbron Beatrice Protheroe
    Peter Sallis Sidney Bliss
    John Woodvine Sir Malachi Jellicoe
    John Carlin House of Commons Speaker
    Donald Nithsdale Bishop
    Alan Starkey Mayor
    Brian Horstead Ginsburg
    Bernard Alexander House of Commons Policeman
    David F. Betts Policeman 1
    Charlie Burman Policeman 2
    David Edward Sutch (as Screaming Lord Sutch) Self
    Writing team
    Laurence Marks Writer
    Maurice Gran Writer
    Production team
    Geoffrey Sax Director
    David Reynolds Producer
    Stuart Quarmby Editor
    Bryce Clayton Editor
    Roger Andrews Production Designer
    Alan Hawkshaw Composer


    The New Statesman Election

    Alan B'Stard gets elected to parliament in rather dubious circumstances.

    Featuring: Rik Mayall (Alan B'Stard MP).


    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 15 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?