The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television.

The New Statesman (1987)

ITV sitcom about a ruthless politician. 28 episodes (4 series), 1987 - 1994. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper and others.

Series 1, Episode 6 - Three Line Whipping

After failing to vote on a three-line whip matter, and making a fool of himself on breakfast television by not knowing the result of a critical by-election, Alan B'Stard's Parliamentary prospects aren't looking too hopeful...

Broadcast details

Sunday 18th October 1987
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
John Nettleton Sir Stephen Baxter
Guest cast
Nick Stringer Bob Crippen MP
Steve Nallon Mrs. Thatcher
Patrick Godfrey Chief Whip
Tim Stern Cabby
John Ringham Police Commander
Noel Coleman Judge
Richard Ireson Inspector Radford
Amanda Walker Mrs. Selway
Judith Hibbert Chantelle
Howard Lee Patrolman
George Phillips Ambulanceman
Christopher Gray Mrs. Thatcher's Detective
Jayne Irving Self
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Geoffrey Sax Director
David Reynolds Producer
Stuart Quarmby Editor
Bryce Clayton Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 11 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Floor Manager credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?