The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television
The New Statesman

The New Statesman (1987)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1987 - 1994
  • 28 episodes (4 series)

Sitcom parody of 1980s Conservatism. Tory MP Alan B'Stard holds the largest majority in the House: his interests are money, power, sex, and himself. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper, John Nettleton and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 1 - Labour Of Love

After a by-election, the Conservative party has a new MP and he's determined to become the most right-wing in Parliament. Alan's equally determined not to lose his crown, even if it means helping Labour.

Broadcast details

Sunday 6th January 1991
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 11th November 2011 2:00am Gold
Friday 20th February 2015 9:00pm London Live
Saturday 21st February 2015 12:00am London Live
Wednesday 25th February 2015 11:00pm London Live
Wednesday 30th November 2016 2:30am London Live
Thursday 1st December 2016 3:15am London Live
Sunday 4th December 2016 3:15am London Live

Cast & crew

Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
Marsha Fitzalan Sarah B'Stard
Terence Alexander Sir Greville McDonald
Guest cast
James Saxon Victor Crosby
Benjamin Whitrow Paddy O'Rourke
Johnny More Neil Kinnock
Tip Tipping Mugger
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Graeme Harper Director
Andrew Benson Producer
David Reynolds Executive Producer
Stuart Quarmby Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer

Share this page