The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television
The New Statesman

The New Statesman (1987)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV
  • 1987 - 1994
  • 28 episodes (4 series)

Sitcom parody of 1980s Conservatism. Tory MP Alan B'Stard holds the largest majority in the House: his interests are money, power, sex, and himself. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper, John Nettleton and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 6 - Profit Of Boom

Bored by the swift cooling of East-West relations, a KGB and an MI5 agent approach Alan with the job of rekindling the Cold War.

Broadcast details

Sunday 10th February 1991
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 29th June 2011 2:35am Gold
Friday 6th March 2015 9:30pm London Live
Sunday 8th March 2015 10:30pm London Live
Wednesday 11th March 2015 12:30am London Live
Tuesday 6th December 2016 3:00am London Live
Thursday 8th December 2016 2:15am London Live
Sunday 11th December 2016 3:00am London Live

Cast & crew

Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
Marsha Fitzalan Sarah B'Stard
Guest cast
Kevin McNally Colonel Gromyko
Mark Kingston Freddy Ogilvy
Joanna Kanska Ludmilla
Adam Wide Messenger
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Graeme Harper Director
Andrew Benson Producer
David Reynolds Executive Producer
Stuart Quarmby Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer

Share this page

See also