The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television
The New Statesman

The New Statesman (1987)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV
  • 1987 - 1994
  • 28 episodes (4 series)

Sitcom parody of 1980s Conservatism. Tory MP Alan B'Stard holds the largest majority in the House: his interests are money, power, sex, and himself. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper, John Nettleton and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 2 - The Party's Over

The next election is drawing ever nearer and the Conservatives are ahead in the polls. Unfortunately a new study shows North Sea oil is about to run out, bringing certain financial ruin. The challenge is on Alan to run a losing campaign.

Broadcast details

Sunday 13th January 1991
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 23rd June 2011 2:35am Gold
Friday 20th February 2015 9:30pm London Live
Saturday 21st February 2015 12:30am London Live
Wednesday 25th February 2015 11:30pm London Live
Sunday 4th December 2016 3:45am London Live
Monday 5th December 2016 1:45am London Live
Wednesday 7th December 2016 12:50am London Live

Cast & crew

Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
Marsha Fitzalan Sarah B'Stard
Terence Alexander Sir Greville McDonald
Guest cast
Benjamin Whitrow Paddy O'Rourke
Moray Watson Professor Eugene Quail
Martin Friend House of Commons Speaker
Hilary Trott TV Interviewer
Christa Ackroyd Newsreader
Shend Youth
David Doyle Youth
Gill McCahon Tory Model
Dave Atkins Liberal Democrat MP
Tip Tipping Sleeping MP
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Graeme Harper Director
Andrew Benson Producer
David Reynolds Executive Producer
Stuart Quarmby Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer

Share this page