The New Statesman. Alan B'Stard MP (Rik Mayall). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Yorkshire Television.

The New Statesman (1987)

ITV sitcom about a ruthless politician. 28 episodes (4 series), 1987 - 1994. Stars Rik Mayall, Michael Troughton, Marsha Fitzalan, Rowena Cooper and others.

Series 1, Episode 2 - Passport To Freedom

Fearing that his wife is set to divorce him, which would almost certainly result in the loss of his constituency, Alan sets about ruining any chance she has of independent financial stability...

Broadcast details

Sunday 20th September 1987
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Rik Mayall Alan B'Stard MP
Michael Troughton Piers Fletcher-Dervish MP
Marsha Fitzalan Sarah B'Stard
Rowena Cooper (as R.R. Cooper) Norman Bormann
Guest cast
Nick Stringer Bob Crippen MP
Vivien Heilbron Beatrice Protheroe
John Carlin House of Commons Speaker
Serena Gordon Victoria
Brigitte Kahn Ground Hostess
David Simeon P.C. Austin
Geoff Oldham Conservative Minister
Writing team
Laurence Marks Writer
Maurice Gran Writer
Production team
Geoffrey Sax Director
David Reynolds Producer
Stuart Quarmby Editor
Bryce Clayton Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 13 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?