Not Going Out. Image shows from L to R: Lee (Lee Mack), Lucy (Sally Bretton). Copyright: Avalon Television / Arlo Productions
Not Going Out

Not Going Out

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 2006 - 2023
  • 100 episodes (13 series)

Fast-paced, gag-packed studio sitcom starring Lee Mack and Sally Bretton. Also features Hugh Dennis, Abigail Cruttenden, Geoffrey Whitehead, Deborah Grant, Bobby Ball and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 2 - Winner

Lee is insufferably smug when he wins £1,000 in a writing competition with an essay entitled 'Disability in the Workplace'.

Further details

Not Going Out. Image shows from L to R: Tim (Tim Vine), Lee (Lee Mack). Copyright: Avalon Television / Arlo Productions

Lucy is moved to tears when she reads the essay and had no idea that Lee was so sensitive. Tim, however, is more sceptical and with good reason, because when a journalist turns up to interview the winner she is expecting to meet a disabled author.

Broadcast details

Friday 6th February 2009
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 9th February 2009 10:00pm BBC2
Wednesday 25th May 2011 10:45pm BBC1
Wednesday 25th May 2011 11:15pm BBC1 Wales
Wednesday 24th August 2011 9:40pm Dave
Thursday 25th August 2011 12:20am Dave
Monday 28th November 2011 9:40pm Dave
Tuesday 29th November 2011 12:20am Dave
Sunday 8th January 2012 10:00pm Dave
Monday 9th January 2012 12:40am Dave
Sunday 1st April 2012 9:40pm Dave
Thursday 5th July 2012 9:40pm Dave
Friday 6th July 2012 1:20am Dave
Saturday 2nd February 2013 9:40pm Dave
Monday 25th February 2013 9:40pm Dave
Tuesday 26th February 2013 1:00am Dave
Saturday 8th June 2013 9:40pm Dave
Saturday 31st August 2013 9:40pm Dave
Thursday 3rd October 2013 9:40pm Dave
Friday 4th October 2013 2:15am Dave
Friday 3rd January 2014 9:40pm Dave
Saturday 4th January 2014 12:20am Dave
Saturday 10th May 2014 9:40pm Dave
Friday 8th August 2014 9:40pm Dave
Thursday 4th September 2014 9:40pm Dave
Friday 9th January 2015 9:40pm Dave
Monday 4th May 2015 12:40am Dave
Monday 4th May 2015 9:40pm Dave
Tuesday 29th September 2015 9:20pm Gold
Wednesday 30th September 2015 1:20am Gold
Thursday 2nd June 2016 9:40pm Gold
Friday 3rd June 2016 2:40am Gold
Thursday 8th September 2016 11:20pm Gold
Thursday 30th March 2017 11:00pm Gold
Saturday 27th May 2017 8:20pm Gold
Thursday 29th June 2017 10:20pm Dave
Friday 20th October 2017 10:20pm Gold
Thursday 7th November 2019 9:20pm Gold
Friday 8th November 2019 12:20am Gold
Thursday 2nd April 2020 10:20pm Gold
Friday 3rd April 2020 1:20am Gold
Friday 15th May 2020 9:35pm Gold
Saturday 16th May 2020 1:25am Gold
Tuesday 22nd September 2020 11:00pm Gold
Wednesday 23rd September 2020 2:35am Gold
Wednesday 23rd September 2020 9:20pm Gold
Thursday 29th October 2020 10:00pm Gold
Friday 30th October 2020 1:10am Gold
Friday 30th October 2020 9:20pm Gold
Wednesday 25th November 2020 9:20pm Gold
Thursday 26th November 2020 2:25am Gold
Wednesday 1st September 2021 10:00pm Gold
Thursday 2nd September 2021 2:30am Gold
Saturday 8th January 2022 12:05am Gold
Tuesday 22nd February 2022 10:40pm Gold
Wednesday 23rd February 2022 2:35am Gold
Wednesday 1st June 2022 10:20pm Gold
Thursday 2nd June 2022 2:55am Gold
Tuesday 5th July 2022 10:35pm Gold
Wednesday 1st February 2023 10:00pm Gold
Thursday 2nd February 2023 2:55am Gold
Tuesday 8th August 2023 9:20pm Gold
Wednesday 9th August 2023 1:00am Gold
Thursday 9th November 2023 10:00pm Gold
Friday 10th November 2023 12:50am Gold
Thursday 25th January 2024 9:55pm Gold
Friday 26th January 2024 1:50am Gold
Friday 26th January 2024 9:20pm Gold

Cast & crew

Lee Mack Lee
Sally Bretton Lucy
Tim Vine Tim
Katy Wix Daisy
Miranda Hart Barbara
Guest cast
Rebecca Gethings Dawn (Interviewer)
Damian Kell Insurance Man
Writing team
Lee Mack Writer
Andrew Collins Writer
Simon Evans Writer (Additional Material)
Paul Kerensa Writer (Additional Material)
Dave Cohen Writer (Additional Material)
Simon Griffiths Writer (Additional Material)
David Isaac Writer (Additional Material)
Liam Woodman Writer (Additional Material)
Milton Jones Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Nick Wood Director
Jamie Rix Producer
Richard Allen-Turner Executive Producer
Lee Mack Executive Producer
Jon Thoday Executive Producer
Richard Halladay (as Richard Halladey) Editor
James Dillon Production Designer
Steve Brown Composer
Alex Hardcastle Composer

Share this page