Inside No. 9 wins BAFTA award

Sunday 6th June 2021, 9:03pm

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith

Inside No. 9 has won the BAFTA award for Scripted Comedy.

Reece Shearsmith was presented the award by Richard Wilson, with Shearsmith's co-writer Steve Pemberton appearing via video link alongside producer Adam Tandy and directors Guillem Morales and Matt Lipsey.

Series 6 of Inside No. 9 is currently being broadcast on BBC Two on Monday nights, with a seventh series due to go into production this year.

The other nominees in the Scripted Comedy category were Ghosts, Man Like Mobeen and This Country.

Aimee Lou Wood wins Female Performance in a Comedy

Aimee Lou Wood, who plays Aimee Gibbs in Sex Education, picked up the award for Female Performance in a Comedy.

The award was presented by Tom Allen and Rob Beckett. The other nominees in the category were Daisy Haggard (Breeders), Daisy May Cooper (This Country), Emma Mackey (Sex Education), Gbemisola Ikumelo (Famalam) and Mae Martin (Feel Good).

Charlie Cooper wins Male Performance in a Comedy

Charlie Cooper was awarded the Male Performance in a Comedy prize for his portrayal of Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe in This Country. He wasn't in attendance at the ceremony, so the trophy was picked up by his dad, Paul Cooper, who also appears in the sitcom.

Rose Matafeo presented the category. The other nominees were Guz Khan (Man Like Mobeen), Joe Gilgun (Brassic), Ncuti Gatwa (Sex Education), the late Paul Ritter (Friday Night Dinner) and Reece Shearsmith (Inside No. 9).

Romesh Ranganathan wins Entertainment Performance

The judges picked out Romesh Ranganathan's hosting of The Ranganation for the Entertainment Performance category.

Adrian Dunbar announced the winner. The other nominees were Adam Hills (The Last Leg), Bradley Walsh (Beat The Chasers), Claudia Winkleman (Strictly Come Dancing), David Mitchell (Would I Lie To You?) and Graham Norton (The Graham Norton Show).

The Big Narstie Show wins Comedy Entertainment Programme

The Big Narstie Show - hosted by Big Narstie and Mo Gilligan - won in the Comedy Entertainment Programme category. The team, appearing by video link, were ecstatic to win.

The other nominees were Charlie Brooker's Antiviral Wipe, Rob And Romesh Vs, The Big Narstie Show and The Ranganation.

Richard Ayoade's opening monologue

The awards were hosted by Richard Ayoade. Here is his opening speech:

The Comedy Writing prize was announced as part of the BAFTA Craft Awards the other week. It was won by Sophie Willan for Alma's Not Normal.

Michaela Coel's I May Destroy You was amongst the winners in other genres tonight. For a full list of results see

Share this page