Goodnight Sweetheart. Image shows from L to R: Yvonne Sparrow (Emma Amos), Gary Sparrow (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Phoebe Sparrow (Elizabeth Carling). Copyright: Alomo Productions / BBC.

Goodnight Sweetheart

BBC One sitcom about a time traveller. 59 episodes (6 series), 1993 - 2016. Stars Nicholas Lyndhurst, Dervla Kirwan, Elizabeth Carling, Michelle Holmes and others.

Series 1, Episode 2 - Fools Rush In

Gary may refuse to buy himself a suit for an interview in 1993 - but he can hardly take Phoebe to a 1940 dance in sweatshirt and trainers.

Broadcast details

Thursday 25th November 1993
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Nicholas Lyndhurst Gary Sparrow
Dervla Kirwan Phoebe Bamford
Michelle Holmes Yvonne Sparrow
Victor McGuire Ron Wheatcroft
David Ryall Eric Bamford
Guest cast
John Rapley Stan (Old Codger)
Pamela Cundell Edna
Ben Lobb Donald
Freddie Stuart Barman
Roger Kitter Marty Harty
Karen Frawley Listener
Writing team
Maurice Gran Writer
Laurence Marks Writer
Production team
Robin Nash Director
John Bartlett Producer
Allan McKeown Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 60 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see editor & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?